DERRICK Interview with the Queen of the Dog Blogs Kimberly Gauthier

The #1 Encouragement Speaker Derrick Hayes gives a DERRICK Interview by asking 7 questions through each letter of his first name to give you an insightful perspective from other experts, entrepreneurs, celebrities and up and coming super stars.

Today’s DERRICK Interview is with Kimberly Gauthier who is the owner of Keep the Tail Wagging, an online magazine for dog lovers that shares tips on dog care. Kimberly started blogging in 2009 and today has found success in pet blogging, consults with bloggers and books speaking engagements to share what she’s learned.

D is for Dream. My dream is to be a full time blogger. I write Keep the Tail Wagging, which is an online magazine for dog lovers that shares tips on dog training, behavior, nutrition, health, safety, and new products. I want to build my site into the number one resource for dog lovers with 1,000,000 people visiting my site monthly (weekly, daily?).

E is for Encourage. I’m encouraged by my followers who take the time out of their day to stop by my site to see what I’ve posted, share my site with their friends, and interact with me daily online (and in person). Whenever someone sends me an email (or approaches me at the dog park) with kudos on my site, I rise 2 feet off the ground knowing that I’m on the right path.

R is for Resource. I’m a good student. I started blogging in 2009 and quickly fell in love with it; from there, I read books, watched videos, and listened to webinars on the subject to learn as much as I can on blogging. My genuine enthusiasm for the subject comes through in my blog and my readers enjoy that I weave my own experience with our dogs in to the articles.

R is for Ready. I realized it when I attended my first blogging conference. I was blown away by the doors that could be opened to me as a blogger and immediately changed my perception of blogging and what my goals were. That was in 2011; this year, I’ll be speaking at that blogging conference and I hope that I can fire up a new group of bloggers.

I is for Individual. This is a hard one, because blogging about dogs has allowed me to connect with some amazing people. But one person that people should definitely know about is Dr. Cathy Alinovi of Hoofstock Veterinary Service. Dr. Cathy has been a great resource for me when I’m researching health topics for my site. She has a genuine love of animals and educating people about how best to care for their pets. Many people think that all veterinarians feel this way, but anyone who has a pet can tell you that it can be difficult to connect with a veterinarian who has an open mind, stays up to date on new ideas, and is willing to discuss alternative treatments with pet families.

C is for Continue. Thomas Edison failed 1,000 times when he was inventing the light bulb. There are many quotes by famous people who failed many times. As long as I’m learning something from each failure, as long as I’m becoming better at what I do (a better blogger, a better dog owner, and a better person), then I count each failure as a valuable lesson and I get excited. It’s like I passed a course and I’m ready for the next one. The only true failure is when we do something wrong over and over, because we’re too afraid to try something new. That’s definitely not me.

K is for Key. Appreciate what you have today. I make a point of thanking my followers and others who are beneficial in helping me “keep the tail wagging.” I do this many ways and have learned that by focusing on the people I’ve connected with, I don’t have to worry so much about finding new readers/subscribers, because my followers and colleagues will gladly recommend me to their friends, family and colleagues. Word of mouth is a power tool and it’s FREE!

Visit  Kimberly Gauthier for more information.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

