DERRICK Interview with Green Guerrilla Marketer Shel Horowitz

ShelEncouragement Speaker Derrick Hayes gives a DERRICK Interview by asking 7 questions through each letter of his first name to give you an insightful perspective from other experts, entrepreneurs, celebrities and up and coming super stars.

Today’s DERRICK Interview is with Shel Horowitz a Green marketing consultant and copywriter who specializes in strategies and materials to reach green, socially conscious consumers with marketing that has THEM calling YOU. His latest book is Guerrilla Marketing Goes Green.

D is for Dream: A sustainable world relying on renewable resources, making war and hunger unnecessary and unacceptable.

E is for Encourage: Awareness of climate change and other issues is so much greater than a decade ago! Now we have to move from consciousness to global action.

R is for Resource: Primary author, Guerrilla Marketing Goes Green; monthly internationally syndicated columnist: Green And Profitable. Deep skills as a marketing consultant and copywriter with understanding of the green marketing space for both green and nongreen audiences.

R is for Ready: Following a successful campaign I started that saved our local mountain (1999-2000), I realized that perhaps I could combine my environmentalism with my marketing skills and move my business in the direction of helping green, ethical businesses. Then the round of business scandals in 2001-02 helped me realize that I had an important message for the world, which led me to my earlier book Principled Profit and the real beginning of this career direction.

I is for Individual: Amory Lovins of the Rocky Mountain Institute. If we followed what he’s been advocating for 40 years, we would now have an economy based entirely on solar, wind, hydro, conservation, etc. We’d be using about 1/4 of the energy and none of it would be from fossil or nuclear.

C is for Continue: I see the absurd positions of the Republican Party today, I realize that Richard Nixon’s record is more progressive in a lot of ways than Barack Obama’s, and yes, I get depressed. I see the earth fighting back through disaster after disaster, and yes, I get worried. But I have strong faith in humanity’s willingness to do the right thing if the way is pointed out through self-interest rather than guilt, so I’ve made it my job to show how going green is not just cost-effective but actually profitable.

K is for Key: Follow your heart. Be creative yet focused. Share your vision with others and incorporate their vision to achieve bigger dreams than you could on your own.

Visit Shel Horowitz for more information.

One Response to DERRICK Interview with Green Guerrilla Marketer Shel Horowitz

  1. [...] DERRICK Interview with Green Guerrilla Marketer Shel Horowitz (encouragementspeaker.wordpress.com) [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

