DERRICK Interview with British Author Suzy Turner

Encouragement Speaker Derrick Hayes gives a DERRICK Interview by asking 7 questions through each letter of his first name to give you an insightful perspective from other experts, entrepreneurs, celebrities and up and coming super stars.

Today’s DERRICK Interview is with Suzy Turner who writes urban fantasy books for young adults. Although she’s British, she lives in Portugal with her husband. The first book in her trilogy, The Raven Saga, is currently available FREE from all good online retailers.

D is for Dream. What is your dream and what have you achieved?

My dream is to be a successful author. Thankfully, it’s going very well, with three books under my belt and a new series currently being written. There are over over 100,000 copies of my books out in the world at the moment which is pretty awesome!

E is for Encourage. What encourages you?

My husband. He truly is my rock and he’s always encouraging me to carry on with my writing. I think he hopes that one day I’ll be able to support him!

R is for Resource. What resources do you bring to the table that makes you unique or stand out?

I write from the heart. Although my books are based on fantasy, there is a heartfelt thread to them. My readers have told me that I have made them cry and laugh out loud.

R is for Ready. When did you realize you were ready for what you are doing now?

I was made redundant in 2010 and it was like being smacked in the face, but shortly afterwards I realised it was the push that I needed to go on and do what I’ve always wanted to do. To write books.

I is for Individual.  Name at least one person that you know that you feel others should learn about and why?

Shalini Boland. She is also an author and her books are so beautifully written that I would recommend them to everyone. I am always so blown away by her writing. I just love it.

C is for Continue. When you fail, things look bleak or are not optimistic what makes you want to continue?

My readers, my own peace of mind and all of my wonderful friends – those close by as well as those I’ve only ever met on social networking sites. They tell me that I can do it. That I do have talent. That my books rock!

K is for Key.  What keys to success can you leave for upcoming entrepreneurs and leaders?

Persevere. Never give up. Never let anyone tell you that you can’t do it, because you can. All you have to do is to believe in yourself.

Visit Suzy Turner for more information and let us know who we should DERRICK Interview  next? 

Leave a Reply

