DERRICK Interview with Dr. Benjamin Chavis, Jr.

Encouragement Speaker Derrick Hayes gives a DERRICK Interview by asking 7 questions through each letter of his first name to give you an insightful perspective from other experts, entrepeneurs, celebrities and up and coming super stars.

Today’s DERRICK Interview is with Dr. Benjamin Chavis, Jr. and this opportunity was made possible with the help of the TransMedia Group. Dr. Benjamin Chavis, Jr. called to interview with me right before he was about to go in and meet with Russell Simmons. Now that is something awesome to interview with Uncle Derrick and then go right in and meet with Uncle Rush

Dr. Chavis is the President, CEO and Co-Founder with Russell Simmons, of the Hip-Hop Summit Action Network (HSAN), the world’s largest coalition of hip-hop artists and recording industry executives.

D is for Dream. What is your dream, goals or what have you achieved?

My dream is similar to the one that Martin Luther King, Jr. had and that is to have total equality and equal justice for all. We still have a long way to go where one day every human being will be treated just and fair with an opportunity for economic empowerment.

E is for Encourage. What encourages you?

I get encouraged when I receive knowledge from  studying the history of African people. My civil rights background is over 50 years and the struggle for freedom and economic empowerment inspires me especially when young people can go into business and be successful.

R is for Resource. What resources do you bring to the table that makes you unique or stand out?

I’m a committee organizer and knowing how to mobilize one’s community is a great resource. I know how to mentor, lead, and develop the skills in others that will push them to success. 

R is for Ready. When did you realize you were ready for what you are doing now?

Everyday I realize I’m ready. Readiness is a process of  being educated and prepared. Being an optimist puts me in position to respond to what comes in my direction

I is for Individual. Name at least one person that you know that you feel others should learn about and why?

Patrice Motsepe  and the reason is that he became the first Black Billionaire in South Africa. In 1994 Patrice Motsepe started African Rainbow Minerals which now is a leading South African diversified mining and minerals company, with world-class long-life, low-cost assets.

C is for Continue. When you fail, things look bleak or are not optimistic what makes you want to continue?

One of my favorite sayings is a Portuguese slogan A luta continua  which means “the struggle continues.”  I know the struggle continues so I must keep moving the dream forward. Life moves on and it is up to us in how it moves on.

K is for Key. What keys to success can you leave for upcoming entrepreneurs and leaders?

1. Make sure educaton is your foundaton 2. Stay focused on your success 3. Understand the importance of math and science and how they can help you maximize your education and entrepreneurial development 4. Always learn from other succeess stories

Anything else that you would like to add that has not been mentioned already?

Currently I’m the Company Spokesperson for Energy Edge Solutions that is publicly traded with the  stock symbol EEDG. More people should have their own companies that one day are taken public. Brother Hayes I would like to thank you for interviewing me and I wish you well on all of your success.

Thank you Dr. Chavis  for allowing me to DERRICK Interview you and since you are about to meet with Russell Simmons challenge Uncle Rush to get his own DERRICK Interview.

Visit Dr. Benjamin Chavis, Jr. for more information.

Leave a Reply

