DERRICK Interview with Dr. Paulette Kouffman Sherman

Dr. Paulette Kouffman Sherman - Author, Dating Coach, Life Coach, Marriage and Family Therapist, Psychologist, Relationship Coach, Speaker/Presenter - New York, NYEncouragement Speaker Derrick Hayes gives a DERRICK Interview by asking 7 questions through each letter of his first name to give you an insightful perspective from other experts, entrepeneurs, celebrities and up and coming super stars.

Today’s DERRICK Interview is with Dr. Paulette Kouffman Sherman who is a licensed psychologist, owner of My Dating School, author of Dating from the Inside Out, published by Atria Books, a regular speaker at The Learning Annex and is the NY Love Examiner. She’s been an expert on television like the CBS Early Show & the AM Northwest Early Show and a radio guest on the Curtis Sliwa show.

D is  for Dream:  What is your dream or what have you achieved?

I have achieved many of my dreams.  I wanted to marry my soulmate, have a boy and a girl and buy an apartment buy the beach.  I did that.  I also wanted to be a published writer and my first book was published by Simon and Schuster.  I wanted to help people and do work that I love and I’ve accomplished this as a psychologist, coach and author.

E is for Encouragement: What encourages you?

It encourages me to know that if we all share our gifts in a context of love that we can make this world a better place.  It also encourages me to have teachers that I love around me.  I made two collages with authors and healers that inspire me and have them framed in my house.

R is for Resource:  What resources do you have that makes you unique or stand out?

I am a psychologist and dating coach who writes, speaks and teaches.  I also went to the High School of Performing Arts in NYC for voice.   I am always learning, attending workshops and reading groups.  I’m creative and love to share my message in different ways.

R is for Ready: When did you realize that you were ready for what you are doing now?

I’ve always known I wanted to be a writer and speaker but after 2008 I focused on practical things with two kids and working.  Then in March of this year I learned I had breast cancer and had to undergo a lumpectomy and 8 months of chemotherapy and radiation.  I was walking on the beach and I asked my Higher Self if I’d accomplished what I was meant to do here.  The answer came back yes (for the reasons above) but I got a clear message that I needed to publish 22 books as my legacy.  After this I became very directed and seemed to have energy to write and publish my book, ‘When Mars Women Date: How Career Women Can Love Themselves into the Relationship of their Dreams,’ even during the chemo. I also started my own publishing house called Parachute Jump Publishing with the motto ‘Books that Inspire You to Love More’ with the intention of a 22 book countdown.  I have 4 books so far and will also be writing one about my cancer experience soon.

I is for Individual: Name one person that others should know about and why?

My sister visited me when I was first diagnosed and she told me to call a man named Christopher Dilts that she knew in California.  He worked with angels and was a healer.  He has a website called www.askanangel.org.  I was a bit skeptical at first but I really liked him and I am a tough critic when it comes to healers.  He confirmed the spiritual purpose of my cancer and my soul ‘s mission to write and help many people (that I just mentioned).  I have loved our conversations and have found him to be wise, supportive and very on target during this challenging time.  I would hope that others who are like-minded would avail themselves of his services and support.

C is for Continue: When things look bleak, what makes you continue?

When things look bleak, I remember that we are all here for a reason and I return to my purpose.  I have told myself, ‘My mission is stronger than my cancer’ while I was going through treatments.  The love of my family and friends also keep me going and my desire to share my love and gifts in this world.  Getting messages from my Higher self helps too because these messages are always wise and empowering (unlike our super ego messages that are punitive or belittling).  It helps to know the difference and to remember to live from a place of Love.

K is for Keys: What keys to success can you leave for others?

I think that a belief in yourself, a belief in your intention and persistence, is key.  Create what you want from the inside out first.  This means that if you get rejected or things aren’t going so well ‘out there’ you remember who you are and that what you are creating matters.  If you remain in that place long-enough, you will attract people at that same frequency and will effect outer change so the outer world reflects your inner one.  Or, at least you will live your life aligned with your values and Higher self.

Check out Dr. Paulette Kouffman Sherman’s new book, When Mars Women Date: How Career Women Can Love Themselves into the Relationship of their Dreams.

Leave a Reply

