DERRICK Interview with “The Celebrity Broker” Kim Tumey

KimTumeyEncouragement Speaker Derrick Hayes gives a DERRICK Interview by asking 7 questions through each letter of his first name to give you an insightful perspective from other experts, entrepreneurs, celebrities and up and coming super stars.

Today’s DERRICK Interview is with “The Celebrity Broker” Kim Tumey who negotiates on behalf of celebrities for movie roles, commercials, plays and endorsement deals as well as casting. Kim Tumey Entertainment handles Celebrity PR, Management, Booking and Event Planning. KTE’s current and past clients include: actress Vivica A. Fox, actor Omar Benson Miller (“CSI: Miami”, “Miracle at St. Anna” & “The Express” 2008), actor Brian White (“12 Rounds”, “Fighting”, “The Game Plan), and many others. Tumey is on the Advisory Board of P31.inc.org and is also a member of NABFEME-ATL.

D is for Dream. What is your dream and what have you achieved?

Great question! I have been able to work with celebrities of all statures, traveled the world, work in an array of entertainment areas. Hmm, being I’m a dreamer, I have a new dream at least once a month, lol! Currently, my newest dream is to grow my newest ventures:

1. Ego Free Hits. I have producers and songwriters who have made hits from Mary J. Blige to Rihanna.

2. 2013 Men Mentoring Men Tour: Our men have nothing to fall back on outside of a few father figures and or school. I want our men to have an outlet where they can voice their concerns, daily stress and at the same time be encouraged and find positive solutions to every day problems. Suicide is the #1 killer of African American men and most have no clue! We have got to get back to support our men. Actors Brian White (CW’S Beauty & the Beast), Darrin Dewitt Henson (Soul Food), Sean Blakemore (General Hospital & 2-13 Star Trek) as well as Dr. Farrah Gray (Farrah Fray Publishing) and Ekumene Lysonge (VP of Legal Affairs at Churchill Downs) will be the leading men of MMMT.

3. Women Supporting Women Globally Weekend: June 14-16 of this year, I start my annual WSWG Weekend in Atlanta, GA. I’ve only promoted once and already have over 300 Women RSVP’D. I’m so excited as this weekend will offer motivation classes, CPR classes, shopping, food, music and so much knowledge to empower, I can’t wait! So, there you have it…lol! Warned you, wink!

E is for Encourage. What encourages you?

Believe it or not, my granny (deceased), my father (deceased), my mother, husband and God! I really enjoy knowing I’m making the people that love me the most proud.

R is for Resource. What resources do you bring to the table that makes you unique or stand out?

Being a Celebrity Broker, I have made great relationships that allow me to bypass the normal day to day task of waiting on certain big wigs to respond to celebrity offers. I deal directly with the celebrity, then for the most part, if a deal is made it goes straight to the attorney or there is a short wait for the agent to prepare the paperwork. So, I love it as I’ve earned the trust and respect of many in Hollywood.

R is for Ready. When did you realize you were ready for what you are doing now?

I’d have to say the day I started, lol! My situation isn’t like most. A complete stranger got me in the business the same day she met me by calling celebrities she knew and told them I didn’t have a job, lol! Yeah….God is GREAT!

I is for Individual. Name at least one person that you know that you feel others should learn about and why?

Shonda Rhimes, I LOVE her! Shonda is an African American Woman and creator of Grey’s Anatomy, Scandal, Private Practice and Off the Map, which she also directs and produces for ABC. Shonda shows us all that the only color that matters is GREEN! She is the one person that amazes me and shows me that what God has for YOU is for you and you alone!

C is for Continue. When you fail, things look bleak or are not optimistic what makes you want to continue?

Loving what you do is key! Some do things because they have to pay their bills (understandable), others do it because it looks cool and for others, their time just hasn’t come yet! So, I do my best to stay in my lane, mind my business, stay focused on MY vision and the biggest thing is to stop talking so much and start doing!

K is for Key. What keys to success can you leave for upcoming entrepreneurs and leaders?

All money isn’t good money…

Be careful who you associated yourself with…

Don’t believe everything people say, do your homework on people…

Encourage others

Don’t assume, always get the facts…

Leave ALL negativity….

Network

Stay out of other folks business and focus on your own.

Surround yourself with positive people and the kind of people you would like to be like…

Take Vitamins, lol….you’re going to need them!

Trust your gut…

Pray for guidance daily…

Is there anything that we did not touch on that you would like to inspire others with?

Remember, you only live once. You will never be able to make everyone happy. Know that you will have haters, but you will also have admires. Perception is everything, so always try an look for the positive, trust me, it will come back ten fold in your direction!!! Can’t wait to meet you all and a HUGE shout out to Derrick for having me. I’m proud of you and I can’t wait to see you grow and prosper, continued success! Other than that, I wish you all great success and hit me up sometimes.

Visit Kim Tumey for more information.

2 Responses to DERRICK Interview with “The Celebrity Broker” Kim Tumey

  1. Awesome Article! YOU GO GIRL!

Leave a Reply

