A Heart of Gold with a Silver Lining

Kristenkellumby Kristen Kellem a Journalism Student at Parkland College in Champaign, Illinois.

I have some friends that are married and are not in recovery. The husband doesn’t have a problem, the wife does but she hasn’t hit her bottom yet. I have known the wife’s daughter since kindergarten. That’s how I met the couple. I go over to help them from time to time to help out because they are both disabled. When it’s time for me to go to a meeting or do service work, they don’t understand why I’m so involved without getting anything from it, but they see the change. Maybe one day she will join this wonderful program from watching me change.

When I was active in my alcoholism and addiction, I always expected to get something out of whoever I was helping. Whether it be money, alcohol, whatever you had that I could benefit from I was planning on walking out with. If you couldn’t help me I didn’t have the time or the want to help you. Needless to say I was very selfish.

Now that I am involved in this amazing program, I can do things to help people and enjoy it and not expect anything from it. Even the little things that help can make a person smile mean the world to me. Day by day, more of the promises are being fulfilled for me. It is an amazing thing to know I might have changed someone’s life. I have always wanted to help others and now I’m doing that and it’s a sincere, peaceful, fun thing to do.

I have also learned that the more I help others, the more they are helping me. Whether they know it or not, they probably have helped me in numerous ways. A smile, a hug, saying hello, holding the door open. Keeping it simple can sometimes be the best way to help. Reach out and help someone without expectations and see how good you feel after. It’s an indescribable feeling to me!

My name is Kristen Kellem. I was born in Rantoul, IL on the Air Force Base. I’m 27 years old, and have lived an eventful life. I was addicted to drugs and alcohol, even had a stillborn because of my addictions. Now I have a beautiful son, I’m going to school, going to church and I have 5 months clean and sober. My do I have a story to tell.

Leave a Reply

