DERRICK Interview with Entertainment Entrepreneur Jillian Bullock

JillianBullockEncouragement Speaker Derrick Hayes gives a DERRICK Interview by asking 7 questions through each letter of his first name to give you an insightful perspective from other experts, entrepreneurs, celebrities and up and coming super stars.

Today’s DERRICK Interview is with Jillian Bullock who is the CEO/President Enterprises, LLC, a wellness and empowerment entertainment company. Jillian is an author, speaker,fitness expert, professional life coach, screenwriter, and award winning filmmaker.  Whether she produces books,articles, fitness programs or film projects, Jillian’s mission is to empower people to obtain success and greatness personally and professionally.

Dis for Dream. What is your dream, goals or what have you achieved?

So far in my career I’ve been fortunate to do what I love. My dream has always been to become a filmmaker and screenwriter. Plus, my love of fitness has played a key part in my life, especially my training in martial arts and boxing. After I graduated from college with a B.A. in Communications, I got an internship on the set of Spike Lee’s movie, Malcolm X. From there I went on to work on other people’s films as a producer, fight choreographer and actor. I’ve sold two scripts so far and have directed and produced my own film,Spirit. My dream is to build Jillian Bullock Enterprises, LLC, a wellness and empowerment entertainment company into a multi-million dollar business.

Eis for Education. What is your educational background and how do you use it daily?

I have a degree in Communications from La Salle University. I also took several film classes while in college. Currently, I am taking advanced screenwriting classes through Screenwriting U. I use my skills and education to write stories and produce films that empower, entertain, and educate people. As a fitness expert, I have over 30 years experience in fitness, sports, wellness,and health. I have several certifications in fitness and as a life transformation coach. I also hold two black belts; one in Tae Kwon Do and the other in Wing Chun. Currently, I train in boxing and MMA. I put all this experience into a variety of fitness programs, My most successful program is Fighting Spirit Warriors, a fitness for self-defense program for girls and women. I travel the country teaching females why it is vital to be physically fit in order to reduce their chances of becoming a victim of rape, sexual assault or domestic violence.

R is for Resource. What resources do you bring to the table that makes you unique or stand out?

Since my memoir, HERE I STAND, was published in 2012, my life story has been my best resource. I have overcome tremendous hardships, including rape, homelessness, drug addiction,  prostitution, and growing up with the Philadelphia Italian Mafia. People often ask me how did I transform my life,and can I help them do the same. In 2013, I got certified as a life transformation coach so I could help people. I also developed a speaking platform entitled, “Straight Talking Truth for Those Who Can Handle the Truth,” where I travel the country conducting lectures and seminars. My main goal is to continue to teach people how to achieve success, happiness and greatness despite the obstacles, hardships or challenges against them. People feel connected to me knowing I understand what they’re going through.

R is for Ready. When did you realize you were ready for what you are doing now?

After I got a letter from a man in prison. He had read my book and wrote me to tell me his story. After 19 years he was getting paroled. He said he made a lot of mistakes when he was young and now that he was getting out he wanted to stay on the path of goodness. He also wanted to give back to the community. He wanted advice on how he could help others when he would be considered an ex-con. I wrote back to him and in my letter I stated, “Your past doesn’t dictate what your future will be.” It’s a profound statement because up until that point I wondered whether people really would accept my message of empowerment and transformation considering my past. I knew the time was right and I started my mission to empower others.

I is for Individual. Name at least one individual in your network that others should learn more about and why?

My son, Clinton Bullock. I had Clinton when I was 16. Although he was born two months premature due to my drug use, I was determined to raise a successful, happy and healthy son. Clinton is a miracle baby, not only because he survived when doctors didn’t believe he would, but today he is an amazing person. He has a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution, speaks four languages fluently and works for the Department of Defense. He travels the world and often volunteers his time to help provide services for people in third world countries. As a mixed martial artist, Clinton is also a sports journalist. He is always looking for ways to better himself and to help inspire others with his knowledge, education and skills.

C is for Challenges. What challenges have you had to overcome?

Too many to list here, but my overall biggest challenge has been learning to have faith in myself. I doubted myself for years and didn’t feel worthy of love or respect. This was a direct result of my upbringing and living such a dysfunctional life. Without any real guidance or support I had to rely on myself and my faith in God to help me push through some really dark moments.But by learning to believe in myself and again focus on my motto,” Your past doesn’t dictate what your future will be,” I was able to forgive myself for my past mistakes and use them as learning tools for success.

K is for Key. What keys to success can you leave for upcoming entrepreneurs and leaders?

Here’s a few keys to success:

1) Don’t fear to dream, and dream big
2)  Forget the naysayers, doubters, and haters
3) You must work like you want it really bad
4)Whether your actions are good or bad, they become habits
5) Be mindful of the company you keep. They (friends/family) can either lift you higher or drag you through the mud.

Contact  Jillian Bullock for more information.

Leave a Reply

