DERRICK Interview with Christian Rapper JT da Golden Child

JTEncouragement Speaker Derrick Hayes gives a DERRICK Interview by asking 7 questions through each letter of his first name to give you an insightful perspective from other experts, entrepreneurs, celebrities and up and coming super stars.

Today’s DERRICK Interview is with Jayson Turner, also known as JT da Golden Child has been affiliated with Mo Serious for at least the past decade. Prior to committing to doing Christian rap, he was creating a buzz for his label Hard Head Records. Poetic Prophet would assist him in management of the label and business decisions.

Later on, he realized that the gift he was using to highlight the streets should be used to glorify Jesus Christ. It was that realization that led him to joining Mo Serious as an artist. His first project under MSE is Untold Stories. It’s the story of man from Mo City who dealt with adversity and through it all, found Christ and changed his life.

D is for Dream. What is your dream, goals or what have you achieved?

My dream and goal is to reach the world through entertainment and my music and encourage the masses to follow their dreams and always keep God first.

E is for Education. What is your Educational background?

I am a graduate of a historically black college.  I use my educational background in my music by my articulation as well as my word play. Due to my extensive vocabulary because of school and education I am able to play with words the way I do.  I also use my speech classes when I have speaking engagements.

R is for Resource. What resources do you bring to the table that makes you unique or stand out?

One of the main resources I use is my versatility. I am able to adapt to any environment. Therefore with my music my subject matter and content do not change but my delivery does.

R is for Ready. When did you realize you were ready for what you are doing now?

I knew I wanted to be an entertainer at an early age.  I have been rapping since I was in the 8th grade. I didn’t switch to gospel until a year ago because I realized my gift was needed in that arena.

JTGoldenChildI is for Individual. Name at least one person in your network that you feel others should learn about and why?

One individual I think people need to learn about is Marcus Parker. He has a tremendous story and he is also the true definition of hard work and dedication paying off.

C is for Challenges. What challenges have you or do you face in your journey?

One of the main challenges I had growing was not having my father in the home with me and having to deal with a step father who did not like me.

K is for Key. What keys to success can you leave for upcoming entrepreneurs and leaders?

The main key I would like to leave is simply put God first in everything that you do. When you do that you are guaranteed to succeed.

Visit JT da Golden Child for more information.

Leave a Reply

