DERRICK Interview with Eugene “Nap” Napoleon

EugeneNapolean

Encouragement Speaker Derrick Hayes gives a DERRICK Interview by asking 7 questions through each letter of his first name to give you an insightful perspective from other experts, entrepreneurs, celebrities and up and coming super stars.

Today’s DERRICK Interview is with Eugene Napoleon who grew up in the Marion Garden Housing Projects located in Jersey City, New Jersey. He dreamed of accomplishing two major goals in life. He wanted to play professional football, and become President, and CEO of his company. A collegiate standout student-athlete at West Virginia University, Napoleon went on to achieve both goals. He played professional football in the Arena Football League (AFL) with the Tampa Bay Storm, and the Orlando Predators. Also signed a professional contract with the Saskatchewan Roughriders of the Canadian Football League (CFL).

After retiring, Napoleon went on to establish both his Nap Records label, and Nap Sports Marketing / Management Company. The Nap Records Label is an independent record company that has successfully been around for the past 20 years. Nap Records recording artist Ny’a has sold over 500,000 records worldwide, which gave Eugene Napoleon, and Nap Records their first Gold-selling recording artist, and album. Napoleon has successfully negotiated (8) worldwide “Pressing and Distribution” deals for his Nap Records, LLC. Company.

In 1999, Eugene Napoleon established Nap Sports, LLC. In which, he is the President, and CEO. Nap Sports, LLC. Is a limited liability company involved with marketing, promotions, contract negotiations, special events, camps / clinics, speaking engagements, endorsement opportunities, and consultant work, for professional athletes, and other celebrity clients. In 2005 alone, Napoleon represented the MVP of the WNBA, and Co-represented the U.S. Open LPGA Golf Champion, and a member of the White Sox World Series Championship Team.

The Future is now, and because of the many years of success in the sports, and entertainment world, Eugene Napoleon decided to focus on another company. He is the CEO of Nap Vision Entertainment, LLC. Nap Vision Entertainment will continue to operate in the same fashion as Nap Sports did back in the late 90’s. Nap Vision Entertainment will be responsible for management, and representation, marketing, promotions, consulting, special events, and speaking engagements for professional athletes, professional recording artist, and other celebrity clients. Nap Vision Entertainment, LLC. Is home to Pamela Long, known around the world as “Pam,” the platinum selling recording artist, and lead singer of the R&B group, TOTAL. Eugene Napoleon also manages, and represents the R&B group, TOTAL. Nap Vision Entertainment also represents professional basketball player, Thazina Cook. Thazina plays for BC De Chenove in France.

Eugene Napoleon is also an educator. He has 20 years of teaching experience. He is a certified Special Education Teacher, dealing with Emotionally Disturbed, and Behavioral Disability students. Napoleon currently works for the Linden Board of Education.

Q. What is your dream, and what have you achieved?

A. When I was 7 years old, I told my mother that I wanted to play professional football, and become a CEO of my own company. My mother always inspired, and pushed me to make my dreams a reality. I thank God for her, because I did achieve those goals. I played professional football in the
Arena Football League (AFL) and I am the President, and CEO of Nap Records, LLC. And Nap Vision Entertainment, LLC. I am a successful, and well respected business man, Barnes & Noble “Bestselling” author, sports agent, and consultant, and manager of one of the most successful R&B groups in the history of the music business, TOTAL.

Q. What encourages you?

A. I have always been blessed with great faith. I grew up in the Marion Garden Projects in Jersey City, New Jersey. So, my mother was my HERO! My mother taught me the importance of character, morals, values, discipline, and having a great work ethic. So, with that came this burning desire to
want success in everything that I was involved in. My encouragement comes from always wanting to inspire positive change in the life of others. I am encouraged, and motivated by all of my sisters, and brothers that did not make it to see their dreams become a reality. My mother had 7 children, and she buried 5 of them. So, I have a totally different perspective on life.

Q. What resources do you bring to the table that makes you unique or stand
out?

A. I was blessed to have a mother that taught me so many different lessons regarding life. My background in sports, and entertainment, has provided me with many great opportunities to meet, and work with many other successful people. I am respected, because I bring honesty, integrity, with a high moral code to anything that I am a part of. In most cases, those qualities, and beliefs are hard to find in the kind of businesses that I am involved in.

Q. When did you realize you were ready for what you are doing now?

A. When I was 7 years old. I had a conversation with my mother telling her what I wanted to accomplish in my life. We mapped out something called, “The Blueprint.” I used “The Blueprint” to inspire my entire life. I told my mother was my dreams were at 7 years old. I was blessed to accomplish every goal, and objective that we discussed that day. So, I would say, I knew when I was 7 years of age.

Q. Name at least one person that you know you feel others should learn about, and why?

A. I my life, I’ve had a few special people that I would think people could learn a few things from. It starts with my mother. She was the strongest person I’ve ever met. As I stated before, because of my experiences in my life, my personal perspectives are different. I don’t view or measure success the way most people would. So, I’ve learned from those special individuals that understand the importance of the core of who we should be as people. It has nothing to do with how much money you have, or how many cars or homes you may have. It comes down to how we treat each other, and
are your actions reflective of your words, and the way you are living your life. So, I would say, my mother, Ivedell Mcclam, and my high school head coach, Frank Gargiulo.

Q. When you fail, things look bleak or are not optimistic, what makes you want to continue?

A. I understand my purpose in life. When I was just 4 years old. My 9 year old sister saved my life. We were in the biggest house fire of that time period in the history of Jersey City. My sister died in that fire. She gave her life for me. So, I’ve always had a greater purpose, and an understanding that my walk in life would be different. My faith in God, and my personal belief in myself, has always allowed me to stay focused in the face of adversity.

Q. What keys to success can you leave for upcoming entrepreneurs, and leaders?

A. I would tell them to learn their own purpose. It’s important to know the purpose, and the reason, and how you will use your success to impact others around you. In order to be a successful or productive leader, you first have to understand all positions of structure. That would mean, if you were a follower at one point in your life, that would give you an opportunity to learn, and become an effective leader when given an opportunity. I have learned from others, and their mistakes on how to become a better husband, a better father, a better person, CEO, Sports Agent / business consultant, a better Special Education Teacher, and someone that walks in their own truth. I would hope to leave those lessons for anyone that would listen. For me it’s all about, inspiring positive change in the life of others.

Thank you for the opportunity to do this interview. Stay blessed.

Regards,
Eugene “Nap” Napoleon,

Leave a Reply

