DERRICK Interview with SoapSox CEO E. Ray Phillips

SoapSoxCEOEncouragement Speaker Derrick Hayes gives a DERRICK Interview by asking 7 questions through each letter of his first name to give you an insightful perspective from other experts, entrepreneurs, celebrities and up and coming super stars.

Today’s DERRICK Interview is with  E. Ray Phillips who is a father, husband and CEO of a fast growing company called SoapSox that is committed to the cause of helping children and families and also looking to increase their impact exponentially. SoapSox has taken an unconventional path to get where they are today and is excited about the future.

D is for Dream. What is your dream, goals or what have you achieved?

My goal is to establish SoapSox as one of the largest manufacturers and distributors of children’s products and accessories in the market all while giving back to agencies that protect children from abuse.

E is for Education. What is your educational background and how do you use it daily?

My educational background consists of a Bachelors Degree in Psychology from the University of California, Riverside. With 16 years of working with children that have experienced trauma or abuse my training and skill set has served me well in managing stressful situations and decision making. Notably with our appearance on Shark Tank, and when negotiating deals with high stakes.

SoapSoxInnovationR is for Resource. What resources do you bring to the table that makes you unique or stand out?

In business my greatest assets are my ability to engage people, form relationships, and resolve issues.

 

R is for Ready. When did you realize you were ready for what you are doing now?

I don’t think you are ever truly ready. You decide to move forward in a direction, and with each challenge you overcome, you become more experienced and confident in your ability to execute.

I is for Individual. Name at least one individual in your network that others should learn more about and why?

Dr. Francisco Navarro of UCLA. He is extraordinary in his ability to build systems, tap resources, and teach people to dig deeper and excel despite the challenges that exist.

C is for Challenges. What challenges have you had to overcome?

I don’t like highlighting the challenges I have had to overcome because I think we all have adversity in our lives. However, I think I was initially a victim of circumstance who survived because that’s what you learn to do. I had some support so I luckily survived while a number of my childhood friends fell victim to the violence of gangs, drugs, etc. I was able to successfully navigate and thrive in high school despite many close calls with gangs, police, and my own bad decisions. I believe the most significant challenge for me was believing I was capable of being successful, and putting into action my potential.

K is for Key. What keys to success can you leave for upcoming entrepreneurs and leaders?

Keep reminding yourself that you are much capable of creating your own opportunity. Despite the long and challenging road, those that recognize opportunities and believe they can make them happen will be able to persevere and realize their dreams of being successful entrepreneurs and leaders. This belief system, will provide the fuel that drives them when setbacks are inevitably encountered.

Is there anything that we did not touch on that you would like to inspire others with?

Don’t wait for others, create the opportunity.

Visit E. Ray Phillips for information and promote what you do with a DERRICK Interview.

Leave a Reply

