DERRICK Interview with Internet Entrepreneur James Reynolds

JamesReynoldsEncouragement Speaker Derrick Hayes gives a DERRICK Interview by asking 7 questions through each letter of his first name to give you an insightful perspective from other experts, entrepreneurs, celebrities and up and coming super stars.

Today’s DERRICK Interview is with James Reynolds who is the founder of Veravo which consists of two search engine marketing agencies; SEO Sherpa and Click Jam. He is also the host of the Traffic Jam Podcast. James is fanatical about all things search, social and content on the web, from his blog, to Twitter, Google+ and LinkedIn. He is a contributor to several leading publications including Entrepreneur Magazine and mentors startup companies in his free time.

D is for Dream. What is your dream, goals or what have you achieved?

I’m living my dream. I live in one of the world’s most inspiring cities (Dubai), travel a lot, work on a business I’m passionate about surrounded by an amazing team. None of this is by chance. I’ve focussed on designing a business that supports the lifestyle I want.

E is for Education. What is your educational background and how do you use it daily?

I am an art college dropout. I’m sorry to say that despite good grades at school my formal education is not that impressive, but it has never held me back.

For the past ten years I have read a lot. On average I read a book every other week, everything from out-and-out business books from authors like W. Edwards Deming and Jim Collins to self help like authors such as Anthony Robbins and Brian Tracy.

I put aside at least 30 minutes to one hour per day for learning.

R is for Resource. What resources do you bring to the table that makes you unique or stand out?

Energy and an ability to energise others. These two traits help me lead, communicate and implement faster than most.

R is for Ready. When did you realise you were ready for what you are doing now?

I think you need to know that you’ll never be truly ready. As entrepreneurs we require a certain amount of naivety and foolishness or we would never attempt anything new.

I is for Individual. Name at least one individual in your network that others should learn more about and why?

James Schramko. He has been a mentor to me for the past 5 years and is the smartest all round business person I know.

C is for Challenges. What challenges have you had to overcome?

Being forced out of my job, having not been paid for 3 months and being owed over $100,000 in unpaid salaries and commission. At the same time attempting to launch a business in a field I had no experience in with a mountain of credit card debt and the threat of jail if I bounced a cheque for the 2 properties I was buying.

That was back in 2010, and 5 years on I have built that business to be the number one SEO agency in it’s market and I’m free from debt and stress.

Sometimes it requires you to hit rock bottom in order to bounce back high.

K is for Key. What keys to success can you leave for upcoming entrepreneurs and leaders?

Persistence. Pure and simple, success requires a lot of hard work.

Say no far more than you say yes. Only say yes to the things that are most important. As Derek Sivers would say, it is either a “hell yes” or a no!

Sales. Without sales you have no business. The most successful entrepreneurs I know are also excellent sales people.

Visit James Reynolds for more information.

Leave a Reply

