DERRICK Interview with Street Lotto the President of OOOG Brand


StreetLottoEncouragement Speaker Derrick Hayes gives a DERRICK Interview by asking 7 questions through each letter of his first name to give you an insightful perspective from other experts, entrepreneurs, celebrities and up and coming super stars.

Today’s DERRICK Interview is with Street Lotto who is the President of the OOOG Brand. The meaning of OOOG is wisdom acquired through life experience, struggle, endurance, and set backs. A OOOG has stayed the course through all it’s up and downs never giving up on his/her dreams, passions, or goals. A OOOG is one that is a shining example to those ahead of them, beside them, and the ones to come. Three times GREAT, Three times a GENIUS, Three times GRAND. To be labeled as a Triple OG means you’ve earned the RESPECT to represent the OOOG Brand‼️

Born in Cincinnati, now residing in Atlanta, Lotto sought opportunity to better himself and focus on a career in music, overcoming the obstacles of the drug trade in his native city. “Money was never the focus for me, only a means.

Through the years, Lotto has aligned himself with well established brands like Coca- Cola, Apple Inc., Snoop Dogg, and 98 Degrees!  Including going on tour with multi- platinum artists streaming from The Nappy Roots to Jeff Timmons (founding member of 98 Degrees). On the list of accomplishments also includes his collaboration with Ted Talk’s “TED X”. In celebration of 1 billion visits to the company’s site (tedtalks.com), Lotto penned and performed  “TRANSCEND”, the theme song for the well attended convention. Scoring even bigger, he was featured along with Dallas Austin, and Too $hort, on the billboard nominated mobile app Zooz Beat made available on iPhone receiving over 1.6 million downloads.

ooog

Though in Atlanta, Lotto has always been compared to and inspired by west coast hip hop. At points, he recalls spending months at a time on the west coast, submerged in it’s culture. “I don’t know why, I just always got love from the west. The music was comfortable to me. I guess that’s why they took to me”, he explained. “Collaborating with Cali veterans like Daz Dillinger and Bay area artists Mistah FAB and Turf Talk inspired me to do something different. “My new project is produced totally by DJ POOH protégé, west coast producer, TWEEK BEATZ whose credits include: Snoop Dogg, Keisha Cole, Glasses Malone, Jim Jones, Crooked I, and Suga Free, to name a few. I just wondered what it would sound like if somebody from over here, fused sounds with somebody over there?”

The new single “#GO”, is from the full length album Levi’s And Chucks, produced by Tweek Beatz.  Why Levi’s And Chucks? Both brands are synonymous with classic American culture, appealing, but not limited to, black and white, but EVERY race, creed, and color within the make up of our society, current and future. They will forever be a mainstay in our society,  just like the material from this LP. Classic. Original. Timeless….

My dream has always been to not only be a major artist with a voice that effects change, but also a business mogul that would inspire people that grew up in places like where I (originally) come from, Cincinnati, Ohio.

E is for Education: What is your background in Education?

I finished High School and 2 years of college before I entered the “real” world. I didn’t finish college. To tell you the truth, I really had no desire to finish school. I was there to continue my football career. But, once I figured out that ship had sailed, I wanted to sell enough weed to buy a dope crib with a dope ride and a dope chick to complete the cipher! (laughs). I eventually came back home and did just that. I started to also get into making the music that was the soundtrack to my lifestyle at that point. That lead me into wanting to take music further. But there was no real music scene in Cincinnati, so I moved to the A! Over the last decade and a half, I’ve been traveling the states performing, getting deals, losing them, making money, losing it, all in efforts to figure out how to brand myself to the masses. I guess you can say, I’ve put my 10,000 hours in! (laughs) Over time, I’ve just figured out how to give people something dope, yet honest, and inspirational. What I have figured out in music, comedy, and branding- nothing beats truth nor purpose and both are heavily applied to the OOOG Brand!

OOOGBrandR is for Resource: What makes you stand out or unique?

My resources include my network. Through being hungry in this business for years, you encounter alot of influential people behind those doors. Some say YES , and some say NO. One thing that I picked up is, just because they said NO doesn’t mean somewhere down the line I can’t get a yes out of them. See, some people will never  change, thank GOD, circumstances do! So what happens is, now, most of them not only ride for me, but they open new doors that weren’t there before. The moral to the story- KEEP PUSHIN’!!!

R is for Ready: When did you know you were ready for what you are doing now?

You just know. Things start happening and you don’t have to ask questions anymore. You know the answers, and feel God’s favor surrounding you like a force field.

I is for Individual: Name one individual that others should learn more about and why?

The source! G-O-D! People should really get to know Him. I grew up with my dad, so I knew him, and could with certainty trust all he said he would do for me- because I knew him. Others weren’t as fortunate. They didn’t grow up with a father around, so they learned to trust themselves more. Even if dad was half there, he wasn’t all the way there. So if you don’t really know the man, how could you really trust him? The same principle applies to knowing the Lord. I know men, that are now grown, that want to find and meet their father just to learn more about themselves. Imagine if you find the Father God Himself, you’d learn ALL about yourself and untapped potential, feel me? To know HIM is to know yourself. You will know His will, then discover your purpose!

C is for Challenges: What challenges have you faced along the way?

Challenges- I’ve had to overcome the obstacles of the game like anyone else that stayed the course. Having to learn, people are NOT what they SAY, they ARE what they DO! Most people will tell you your dreams are impossible- and they ARE- for THEM! It isn’t their purpose to do what you do, so they don’t have the vision to see what you see. I learned not to get caught up in what didn’t work before. That was them- THIS IS ME! I expect to win. Maybe it doesn’t happen right away, but it will in HIS time. And 10 times out of 10, if it don’t happen, it wasn’t for me, and I’m good with that. I also learned that nobody is going to work harder for your dream than YOU, regardless of what they may tell you or make it look like. You get out what you put in.

K is for Keys: What keys to success can you leave for others?

One sure fire way of not achieving your dream is to quit!

Visit Street Lotto and the OOOG Brand for more information.

Leave a Reply

