DERRICK Interview with Judge Angela Cox

JudgeCoxEncouragement Speaker Derrick Hayes gives a DERRICK Interview by asking 7 questions through each letter of his first name to give you an insightful perspective from other experts, entrepreneurs, celebrities and up and coming super stars.

Today’s DERRICK Interview is with Judge Angela Cox who is the 1st black female appointed in the 4th judicial circuit in Fl., A prominent & sought after speaker. Her passion-“to help others, find their purpose in life.”

In November of 2014, Governor Rick Scott appointed Judge Cox to the Circuit Court bench. Prior to her appointment, she served as a County Court Judge for nine years… after being appointed by Governor Jeb Bush in 2005.

She attended Tennessee State University as an undergrad and received her J.D. Degree from the University of Memphis School of Law.

Judge Cox serves her community by being a mentor, as a committed volunteer in her local church, as a volunteer for the Justice Teaching Initiative in Duval County Public and Private Schools… and as a member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated.

Judge Angela M. Cox is a Detroit native. Her story will have you in tears and leave you, inspired. From young-to old- Judge Cox engages her audiences – and leaves them with the desire to find their passion and purpose in life.

D is for Dream. What is your dream, goals or what have you achieved?

My dream was to become a member of the judiciary in the State of Florida. I achieved my goal and my dream became a reality when I was first appointed by Governor Jeb Bush in 2005 to our County Court and then appointed in 2014 by Governor Rick Scott to our Circuit Court as the first African American Woman in the 4th Judicial Circuit of Florida.

E is for Education. What is your educational background and how do you use it daily?

Bachelor’s Degree in Criminal Justice from Tennessee State University.

Juris Doctor from Cecil C. Humphrey’s School of Law at the University of Memphis.

I use my degrees every single day since receiving them. I practiced Criminal Prosecution and I serve in the Criminal Division of the Circuit Court.

R is for Resource. What resources do you bring to the table that makes you unique or stand out?

The ability  to motivate others to find their purpose in life.

R is for Ready. When did you realize you were ready for what you are doing now?

The process of knowing I was and am ready is continuous. When I was 17, my only sibling who was 18 was shot and killed. I knew then that I wanted to be a criminal prosecutor and one day a Judge. Getting to that place was no easy feat but as I moved in the direction of my goal, I knew I was exactly where I was meant to be.

I is for Individual. Name at least one individual in your network that others should learn more about and why?

My husband, Sgt. Travis Cox. He is an intelligent, articulate, hardworking, and valued member of our law enforcement community.  He embodies the definition of a professional. He makes me and everyone he encounters want to be their very best.

C is for Challenges. What challenges have you had to overcome?

I grew up in less than ideal circumstances in Detroit, Michigan. My mother was addicted to drugs so my primary care was left to my grandmother and then my aunt when I was 15 and my grandmother died. I had a terrible attitude because I felt that life wasn’t fair but my aunt stressed that if I didn’t like the life I was living, to change it. So I did. Hard work, a better attitude,   taking responsibility for my actions, making better choices, choosing the right friends and taking advantage of the opportunities afforded to me helped me to live my best life.

K is for Key. What keys to success can you leave for upcoming entrepreneurs and leaders?

Live a life of integrity. Be a person of your word. Be on time, all the time. Have a vision for the areas of your life, write it down and make a plan to bring the vision to pass. Don’t let the answer “no” steal your dream, all you need is one yes.

Visit Judge Angela Cox for more information.

Leave a Reply

