DERRICK Hayes Interview with Designer Drea DaVinci

DreaEncouragement Speaker Derrick Hayes gives a DERRICK Interview by asking 7 questions through each letter of his first name to give you an insightful perspective from other experts, entrepreneurs, celebrities and up and coming super stars.

Today’s DERRICK Interview is with DreaDaVinci who is first and foremost an artist.  DreaDaVinci is a renaissance woman who wants to dominate today’s fashion landscape. Graduating with a Bachelor’s degree from the Univeristy of Oregon in combination with studies abroad of art and culture have honed her creative eye and skill set. Drea utilizes her knowledge and experience in fashion blogging, celebrity styling, development of online boutiques, and marketing. Her design aesthetic ranges from fashion forward looks to timeless classics. Drea’s world travels have inspired a collection of clothing geared towards today’s tastemakers and trendsetters. DreaDavinci Clothing is a lifestyle and a movement that symbolizes the finer things and a love of the good life.  

D is for Dream. What is your dream, goals or what have you achieved?

Above all, I want to be happy.  My dream is to travel as much of the world as possible. I dream of living on a beautiful beach and painting pieces that I can incorporate into my clothing designs.  I want to use my abilities to inspire other artists and business people alike to create and innovate.  I had a dream of creating the dreadavinci brand and watching it manifest has been literally a dream come true!

E is for Education. What is your educational background and how do you use it daily?  

I have a Bachelor’s Degree in Ethnic Studies with a minor in Political Science from the University of Oregon.  I studied art and culture abroad and have traveled extensively, although there is so much more of the world I can’t wait to see!  I use my education to help interpret the social constructs around us, and to practice critical thinking and to “think outside the Matrix” if you will.  My first job out of college was in finance and I am so thankful to have a grasp on how to navigate the world of finance as it is vital in owning and running a company.

 R is for Resource. What resources do you bring to the table that makes you unique or stand out?  

What makes my brand so strong is my team.  I have one of the best designers in the world working with me, Dallas Stokes.  He has been in the industry for decades  and is extremely talented and well connected, with a hugely successful track record.   I also have one of the best production managers in the business, Ralph De Blanc, with over 30 years of experience.   He has a priceless skill set and a wealth of knowledge!  We all speak the same language of working hard, upholding good business ethics, transparency in all matters of communication, loyalty, and honesty.  The dreadavinci brand is unique in that the designs reflect our experiences as world travelers and connoisseurs of style.

R is for Ready. When did you realize you were ready for what you are doing now?

I realized I was ready almost a year ago when I found the niche in the market that needed filling.  I had previously owned an online boutique and had styled various celebrities.  My experience in marketing towards a fashion based demographic, driving traffic and search engine optimization, social media marketing, blogging,finance, and buying and selling different clothing lines helped prepare me to have my own company.  Also my background as an artist helped my confidence in my ability to design.  I saw that there was a niche for my line, and it’s been a lot fun exploring that opportunity.

I is for Individual. Name at least one individual in your network that others should learn more about and why?  

Dallas Stokes.  Because his resume is unparalleled.  He went straight from high school at the age of 17 designing shoes and brands that have literally transformed the entire industry.  Look him up, his body of work is crazy.

C is for Challenges. What challenges have you had to overcome?

I’m not sure if many people realize how challenging it really is to get a shoe line produced. The day that we had confirmation that my shoes were going to be made, tears of joy were cried.  It still feels surreal to know that there’s an entire factory full of people working on my line, I have to pinch myself sometimes!

K is for Key. What keys to success can you leave for upcoming entrepreneurs and leaders?

First and foremost, believe in yourself and never give up.  Surround yourself with positivity.  Don’t be afraid to sacrifice to get where you are going.  Read and do your research!  Two books really changed my life:  The Four Agreements and the Law of Attraction.  When one learns to harness the power of their minds and focus their mental towards manifesting magic, then magic happens!  I am a huge advocate of practicing gratitude for all blessings.  Surround yourself with people who are smart, successful, honest, and know more than you do.  Don’t be afraid of failure, be afraid of the failure to try. “Don’t let anyone outwork you” is a mantra my Dad instilled in me, and those words remind me constantly to aim higher and work harder.

Is there anything that we did not touch on that you would like to inspire others with?

To be able to create a brand from just an idea in less than a year, and to have such a positive reception is truly humbling.  I am so thankful for the opportunity, and so excited to share my designs with the world!

Visit Drea DaVinci for more information.

Leave a Reply

