DERRICK Hayes Interview with Author Ron Walker

RonWalkerEncouragement Speaker Derrick Hayes gives a DERRICK Interview by asking 7 questions through each letter of his first name to give you an insightful perspective from other experts, entrepreneurs, celebrities and up and coming super stars.

Today’s DERRICK Hayes Interview is with Ron Walker who was born in Thomaston GA and raised just outside of Atlanta, GA in Clayton County. With over ten years of speaking under his belt, Ron has grown into a well trained empowerment speaker. He delivers a passionate message centered on self-motivation, overcoming obstacles and achieving goals. In order to aid others in their voyage, he has developed several books and CD projects. Projects include “I Almost Gave Up,” “It’s My Time,” “On track to the Kingdom,” “Your Best Day Today,” “The Lost Works of a Lost Soul,” “One Day at a Time,” “Passion 101” and “Dollar and a Dream: Succeed or Die Trying.” All of his projects are internationally distributed and can be found wherever you buy books or CD’s including Amazon, iTunes, Napster and Sony.

Ron has a bachelor’s degree in Theology and in Psychology. He is a licensed and ordained Christian minister and oversees Better Way Ministries, an outreach ministry specializing in motivating others to find and define their purpose.

Dream:

My dream is to simply encourage people in a way that propels them into their destiny. I simply aim to be a cog in the process, a catalyst of sorts that gets the ball rolling in the right direction. I believe in momentum, but sometimes what separates achievers from under achievers is a push in the right direction. Through my writing, speaking, ministry and even business, I aim to be that push towards purpose.

Education:RonWalkerBook

I hold a Bachelor’s degree in both Theology and Psychology. Seeing as how I’m constantly dealing with people, I use them both daily. Understanding the minds and motivations of people are key in being able to break through to them and motivate them. My formal and informal education allow me to better understand people from different backgrounds, their different obstacles in life and the different factors that influence their decisions. I mentioned in my motivational audio book, “Dollar and a Dream,” the importance of what school, church and the streets taught me and how they influence me daily. It’s important to be able to utilize all facets of education. That’s also why I make it a goal to learn something new everyday.

Resource:

I think with every person, if they can’t bring anything else to the table, they at least bring their past, their experiences and the knowledge base they have developed based on those unique experiences. I am who I am because of what I’ve been through over the years. I bring a wealth of knowledge and understanding to the table because of where I’ve come from and what I’ve been through. I was born with little, went through much and have come out in a pretty good position. No one else can tell my story like me.

Ready:

I realized I was ready around the age of nine. I started my first business back then and have developed over the years. I started writing and receiving rewards and acknowledgements for it back when I was in middle school and I started speaking and teaching in church towards the beginning of high school. I don’t think anyone knows everything about where they are going or will end up in life, but as far as being ready…I’ve been ready, but I’m constantly preparing for more as well. I’m ready and getting ready all at the same time. I’m ever expanding.

Individual:

It’s difficult for me to think of one person in my network to single out as person that others should learn more about. My friends are doing many great things in their respective industries. Justin and Akuba Dawkins are on the precipice of making great developments in the Tech world. Lyndon Batiste, Phil Daniels, Niko Villamor are doing wonders with music. Levar Norsworthy is making great strides in marketing. And there are so many more. If I had to highlight one person, I would say that my father Pastor Daniel Fagan is one to know because of his understanding of love and leadership. I believe that more of us need to understand how to love people and lead effectively.

Challenges:

As is pointed out in my new book, “I Almost Gave Up,” divorce, financial struggles, the decline of a business, the loss of a very close loved one and so many other things have been challenges I’ve had to overcome, but it’s all a part of life. We all have obstacles and challenges, but I’m a believer that for every problem there is a solution. I don’t focus as much on challenges as I focus on solutions. It’s a part of what helps me to continue to succeed.

Keys for Success:

As mentioned before, focusing on solutions instead of problems is key to success. I wrote a book not too long ago called, “It’s My Time: Stop Complaining and Start Changing.” In my opinion, it’s imperative to seek change over complaints. We can all find something to be unhappy about and we can all find something to be happy about, but the choice is ours. Never give up. Keep smiling and keep persevering. The battle isn’t given to the strong, but to the one that endures. If we keep pushing, persevering and being relentless in our efforts, eventually we will succeed. To me, true success comes when we realize that the joy is in the journey, not the destination. If we can learn to enjoy each day and appreciate the ride that life takes us on, success becomes an ever present reality.

Visit Ron Walker for more information.

Leave a Reply

