DERRICK Hayes Interview with Dr. Shadeiyah Shaheed-Edwards

DrEdwardsEncouragement Speaker Derrick Hayes gives a DERRICK Interview by asking 7 questions through each letter of his first name to give you an insightful perspective from other experts, entrepreneurs, celebrities and up and coming super stars.

Today’s DERRICK Interview is with Dr. Edwards who has been working in the mental health field for over ten years. She has experience working with forensic populations, co-occurring disorders, substance abuse, domestic violence, geriatrics, human sexuality, foster care system, and gangs. She is a gang expert and business consultant. She has a commitment to empower women and train mental health provider’s empathy to work with gang-involved individuals.

D is for Dream. What is your dream, goals or what have you achieved?

I have a dream to empower women to take control of their lives whether it’s finances or relationships by seeking their higher power, education, accomplishing their goals, and being purpose driven. My goal is to empower the single mother who believes she can’t have a career and raise children.

I would also like to continue raising awareness and assist with building empathy in those that encounter gang involved individuals through trainings. I would like to leave a legacy and create generational wealth for my family.

E is for Education. What is your educational background and how do you use it daily?

I have my BS in criminal justice with a minor in Black studies, MA in Applied Forensic Psychology, and my Psy D in Clinical & Forensic Psychology. I use it daily to treat patients with severe mental illness. I also teach and mentor future clinicians and psychologist.

R is for Resource. What resources do you bring to the table that makes you unique or stand out?

Being able to step outside of myself to understand and relate to other’s experience. I display empathy for all people. My parents have always taught me that I needed to be more than book smart; I needed to also have street smarts. I bring that element, which is why I am able to reach those involved in gangs. I consider myself the best of both worlds.

R is for Ready. When did you realize you were ready for what you are doing now?

I prepared for this moment my whole life. I was always serious about school and always knew where I was headed. Every job and life experience has led me to this point right now. I originally wanted to be a lawyer, but God had a different plan for my life.

I is for Individual. Name at least one individual in your network that others should learn more about and why?

Javon Beard came from humble beginnings growing up in South Central Los Angeles….Through all adversity he has managed not to become a statistic… He is one of the best Protective Service Agents on the West Coast to the stars. His credentials include: Private Investigator License, Licensed to Carry Concealed Weapon in 37 States and 77 Countries. He is also one of the authors of Remember The Time Protecting Michael Jackson in His Last Days. This book can be purchased at Amazon.com or Barnes & Noble. To book a licensed agent contact Javon at  Javonbeard@yahoo.com.

C is for Challenges. What challenges have you had to overcome?

Life is full of challenges each day. I don’t allow challenges to hold me back, I face them head on. I have learned to keep God first and stay prayed up. When you are walking in purpose, the devil will be busy and will use the people closest to you, to attack you.

K is for Key. What keys to success can you leave for upcoming entrepreneurs and leaders?

Do not let anything distract you, detour you, or bring you down. Be prepared to lose friends along the way. Majority of the people closest to you will not support you and be okay with that. People are not with the movement until its moving. Create your lane and stay in it. Support other’s, network, and establish professional relationships. Your dream is nothing without a goal and execution of a plan. Remember, the best leaders are those that serve others. The measure of a person’s life is the affect they have on others.

Visit Dr. Edwards for more information.

Leave a Reply

