DERRICK Interview with Louis Tanguay of Circle Marketing

Encouragement Speaker Derrick Hayes gives a DERRICK Interview by asking 7 questions through each letter of his first name to give you an insightful perspective from other experts, entrepreneurs, celebrities and up and coming super stars.

Today’s DERRICK Interview is with Louis Tanguay who is the Managing Director of the full-service marketing company Circle Marketing. Louis has been personally building online businesses since the mid-90’s while working for the Business Incubator Event Zero in Boston. Circle Marketing started in mid-2010 as a way to help bring large company efficiencies to the small businesses of America and help small business owners follow an efficient and effective path to success.

D is for Dream. What is your dream, goals or what have you achieved?

My dream is to help small businesses utilize the power of modern marketing strategies and technology, the internet and social media for example, to make just as big an impact as the “big boys.” The internet has evened the playing field, so that all a business needs these days is a solid product and or service, and the right strategy to marketing effectively and efficiently. We have helped every business we have worked with to grow in varying degrees (5-35% growth), and are looking forward to helping dozens more businesses in the coming year achieve that same level of success.

E is for Encourage. What encourages you?

Every time Circle Marketing helps a small business gain more sales, more social media followers, and finds efficiency in their revenue streams, we are encouraged to continue. Every bit of success we have solidifies what we are doing here, and proves to us that we are helping small businesses help themselves to bigger profits. That tells us we’re on the right path, and encourages us to keep it up!

R is for Resource. What resources do you bring to the table that makes you unique or stand out?

I have the unique gift of not being very polar when it comes to marketing. What this means is that I understand a broad range of marketing areas, not just specialize in only one thing. Sure, there are better designers or developers than me, but I understand both their worlds, and just hire the best to work for Circle Marketing. My broad understanding and ability to translate what the client wants into an effective and efficient strategy, then translate that strategy to both designers and developers is a resource and gift I am so thankful to own. Understanding the entire concept-to-completion process, in my opinion, is better than only specializing in just one area.

R is for Ready. When did you realize you were ready for what you are doing now?

When I was unemployed. I was laid off in the middle of the Great Recession in 2009, but I had 16 years of experience. The tighter budgets made it difficult for someone like me to get in the door, because of the titles I had in the past. So, I figured what is the best way to get a job right then and how could I never have to worry about money again? Well, I would hire myself to help other people make more money! And…it worked! I started Circle Marketing in 2010 as a way to help small businesses grow in any economy, and put together the general strategies we use today. So, if anyone says they can’t find a job, just encourage them to hire themselves doing something they’re passionate about!

I is for Individual. Name at least one person that you know that you feel others should learn about and why?

I could say a great number of inspirational figures, but since we’re talking more about business here, I would suggest people read The Ultimate Sales Machine by Chet Holmes. Chet unfortunately just passed away due to complications with Leukemia, which is tragic, but he left behind an amazing system of business development which will help any business of any size grow bigger and act more strategically.

C is for Continue. When you fail, things look bleak or are not optimistic what makes you want to continue?

Failure is never something to fear. Failure, big or small, is the greatest teacher we will ever have. I have learned more from my failures than I have from my successes, because when you have success, you can just copy, paste, rinse and repeat. However, when you fail, you have to analyze why you failed, think about what you could have done differently, and have a plan for a different outcome if you are ever in that situation again. There are many great inspirational quotes to add in here, so I’ll just choose two that stuck with me over the years, “Our greatest glory is not in never failing, but in rising every time we fall.” – Confucius … and … “Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.” – Winston Churchill.

K is for Key. What keys to success can you leave for upcoming entrepreneurs and leaders?

To me, the Key to success is a simple formula:

Focus + Strategy + Hard Work + Determination x Positivity = Success. With that formula, you simply will not fail, and you will absolutely find the success you’re looking for…and then some!

Is there anything that we did not touch on that you would like to inspire others with?

I think the biggest thing I can say, which I hope people take more than anything else I said, would be to understand that no one did it by themselves, and then again no one is going to help you either. I’ll explain that seemingly dichotomous statement. When you achieve success, it’s because you had the right attitude, worked hard, cared about your product and customers, hired the right people, made the right connections, and built strong relationships which you leveraged for either bigger sales, bigger profits, or both. No one just makes a million dollars on their own one day, by themselves, without any help whatsoever.

Then again, no one is going to just hand over a million dollars to you, either. You have to put in the work. You have to build those relationships, do the market research, find the right partners, and not spend your time doing things which won’t help your business, while spending most of your time doing things which will directly help your business. You control your own destiny. You will get exactly what you deserve in the business world.

Business isn’t emotional. It’s business. If you work hard, build great relationships, never quit, and work efficiently and strategically and stay very positive the whole way through, then you WILL find that success you’re looking for…and then some. I promise you. Just keep smiling, stay focused, and NEVER QUIT!

Winners never quit, and quitters never win. Be A Winner!

Visit Louis Tanguay for more information

Leave a comment