DERRICK Interview with Youngest U.S. Magazine Publisher Savannah Britt

SavannahEncouragement Speaker Derrick Hayes gives a DERRICK Interview by asking 7 questions through each letter of his first name to give you an insightful perspective from other experts, entrepreneurs, celebrities and up and coming super stars.

Today’s DERRICK Interview is with Savannah Britt who is the socialite turned entrepreneur who successfully founded Girlpez Magazine at age twelve. Now at 18 years old, Britt has been featured in Black Enterprise Magazine, The Anderson Cooper Show, and Scholastic’s Ahora Magazine. She continues the magazine while launching a luxury swimwear line and a PR firm.

D is for Dream. What is your dream and what have you achieved?

My dream is to inspire girls around the world, to show them that becoming an entrepreneur is possible to anyone who is willing to work. I have achieved so much as this age from being featured in Black Enterprise Magazine to becoming the Youngest Magazine Publisher in the U.S. But my dream continues, I am still trying to get my message to young girls out there.

E is for Encourage. What encourages you?

My readers are what encourage me. They are the ones who send me their stories and insight, they are the ones who push me to put out my publication. I am motivated by their everyday struggles and problems whether it be dealing with anorexia or shopping on a budget, I feel like I am able to help them and that’s what encourages me.

R is for Resource. What resources do you bring to the table that makes you unique or stand out?

I have a lot of industry friends and many of them I look to as resources. In addition, I have my family and friends that I look to for resources.

R is for Ready. When did you realize you were ready for what you are doing now?

I realized I was ready at age twelve, when I started the magazine. I had been writing children’s book reviews for a newspaper and after the newspaper folded I was left unemployed but hungry too. I knew I was ready to expand my brand and begin my own publication.

I is for Individual. Name at least one person that you know that you feel others should learn about and why?

One individual I feel others should learn about would be Oprah Winfrey. And I know it’s hard to say “learn about” Oprah because what’s there not to know about Oprah, but it extends far behind the surface Oprah. I think others should “learn from” Oprah, how one woman has been able to mold a brand, shape it and make money from it. She has attacked every avenue possible from hosting a talk show to owning a network to owning a publication to owning her own school for girls in Africa. She has managed to make a name for herself in so many ways which is a huge part of the idea of branding.

C is for Continue. When you fail, things look bleak or are not optimistic what makes you want to continue?

Seeing the end goal is what makes me want to continue. Failure is just a stop along the way. Seeing success is what pushes me.

K is for Key. What keys to success can you leave for upcoming entrepreneurs and leaders?

Several keys to success would be planning, executing, and branding. I really stress that entrepreneurs plan what they want and where they see their company going. That means having a business plan that makes sense. In addition, executing is a big portion. This means doing what you say you will do. And lastly, branding is important. Making a brand for yourself is important, especially having an online presence.

Visit Savannah Britt for more information.

One Response to DERRICK Interview with Youngest U.S. Magazine Publisher Savannah Britt

  1. […] newspaper folded when Savannah was 11, leaving her hungry for more. She felt ready to “expand my brand and begin my own publication.” So, she created Girlpez, a website and a magazine […]

Leave a comment